

2018 DIVISION II CONFERENCE COMMISSIONERS ASSOCIATION MEN'S BASKETBALL ALL-AMERICA TEAMS

Contact: David Alexander, Assistant A.D. for Communications, The College of Saint Rose

Phone: (518) 458-5491 | Email: alexandd@strose.edu

March 19, 2018 Immediate Release

Wheeling Jesuit's Haywood Highsmith Chosen Division II Conference Commissioners Association Men's Basketball Ron Lenz National Player of The Year

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association All-America Men's Basketball Team is sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association.

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics. The CCA also works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel for NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.

The All-America Men's Basketball Team is selected by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

National Coordinator

David Alexander, The College of Saint Rose

Atlantic Region Coordinator

Adam Zundell, Mountain East Conference

Central Region Coordinator

Patrick Rydeem, Concordia University, St. Paul

East Region Coordinator

Daniel Ruede, University of New Haven

Midwest Region Coordinator

David Buck, University of Findlay

South Central Region Coordinator

Brian Kortz, Western New Mexico University

Southeast Region Coordinator

Gus Mohlhenrich, Coker College

South Region Coordinator

Jim McCurdy, Barry University

West Region Coordinator

Evan O'Kelly, Montana State University Billings

ALBANY, N.Y. – Senior forward Haywood Highsmith of Wheeling Jesuit University was today named the Division II Conference Commissioners Association 2018 Men's Basketball Ron Lenz National Player of the Year. Highsmith stands atop the D2CCA Men's Basketball All-America Teams that were voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Highsmith is joined on the first team by Lincoln Memorial senior forward Emanuel Terry, St. Thomas Aquinas senior swing Justin Reyes, Northwest Missouri State senior guard Justin Pitts, and junior guard Tommy Bolte of Concord University. Highsmith led the Cardinals (26-6) to the Mountain East Conference Tournament title, their third straight NCAA Championship Tournament appearance, and fourth consecutive 20-plus win campaign this past winter.

The 2018 MEC Player of the Year and Tournament MVP, Highsmith paced the country with 29 "double-doubles" while averaging 22.0 points and 12.5 rebounds per game. The latter mark places him third among the nation's leaders. Highsmith wound up his career with 1,952 points and 1,251 rebounds while establishing himself as only the second player in program annals to record more than 1,500 points and 1,000 boards.

Terry was honored as both the South Atlantic Conference Player and Defensive Player of the Year after leading Lincoln Memorial to the second most wins (32-1) in program history. Terry averaged 17.0 points and 10.2 rebounds for the Railsplitters.

Reyes, the East Coast Conference Player of the Year, produced 22.2 point and 10.1 rebounds on a regular basis for the Spartans (26-7).

Pitts averaged 18.9 points and 5.0 assists for the Bearcats (27-4) en route to being named the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association Player of the Year for the third time. He also garnered first-team All-Conference accolades in each of his four seasons.

The nation's leading scorer at 31.8 ppg, Bolte also regularly contributed 5.7 rebounds and 5.6 assists for the Mountain Lions (17-13).

2018 D2CCA Men's Basketball All-America Teams

First Team

i ii se i caiii						
Name	School	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	Yr.	Hometown
Haywood Highsmith**	Wheeling Jesuit	F	6-7	220	Sr.	Baltimore, Md.
Emanuel Terry	Lincoln Memorial	F	6-9	220	Sr.	Enterprise, Ala.
Justin Reyes+	St. Thomas Aquinas	G/F	6-4	205	Sr.	Haverhill. Mass.
Justin Pitts#	Northwest Missouri State	G	5-10	150	Sr.	Blue Springs, Mo.
Tommy Bolte	Concord University	G	6-1	186	Jr.	Chillicothe, Ohio
Second Team						
Name	School	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	Yr.	Hometown
Zach Hankins+	Ferris State	С	6-10	255	Jr.	Charlevoix, Mich.
Daeshon Francis%	Texas Permian Basin	G	6-4	210	Sr.	Indianapolis, Ind.
Kyle Monroe	Michigan Tech.	F	6-5	195	So.	Green Bay, Wis.
Dayon Goodman	Westminster (Utah)	F	6-8	200	Sr.	Salt Lake City, Utah
Dustin Sleva#	Shippensburg	F	6-8	230	Sr.	Pittsburgh, Pa.
Third Team						
Name	School	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	Yr.	Hometown
Tanner Omlid	Western Oregon	F	6-4	215	Sr.	Monmouth, Ore.
Chris Walters	Southern New Hampshire	F	6-4	175	Gr.	Stamford, Conn.
Detrek Browning	Francis Marion	G	6-2	183	Sr.	Columbia, S.C.
Micah Till	Slippery Rock	F	6-7	250	So.	Upper Marlboro, Md.
Elvar Fridriksson	Barry	G	6-0	185	Sr.	Njardvik, Iceland

Honorable Mention: David Chavlovich, West Texas A&M; Taren Sullivan, Findlay; Beau Justice, Valdosta State; Nolan Berry, Maryville; Harrison Cleary, Minnesota Crookston

%2017 Honorable Mention

^{**}Ron Lenz National Player of the Year #2017 first-team All-American +2017 second team All-American